Per California Rules of Court 10.613, the Superior Court of California, County of Humboldt, is
distributing the following proposed additions and amendments to the Local Rules of Court for public
comment for January 2014 effective date. They are available at the Court Clerk’s Office at 421 “I”
Street, Eureka, CA, and are also available for viewing on Humboldt Superior Court’s web site at:
www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov.

Public comments can be submitted by either mailing your comments to: Humboldt County Superior
Court, Attn: Local Rules Public Comment, 825 5" Street, Rm. 231, Eureka, CA 95501, or by submitting
them via email to: LocalRulesComment@humboldtcourt.ca.gov. All submissions must be received no
later than the close of business on November 15, 2013.

CHAPTER 1 - GENERAL RULES

Rule 1.8 (revision) Facsimile Filings

The Humboldt County Superior Court does not accept direct fax filing of documents. The Court accepts
the filing of documents through a fax filing agency pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 2.303.
Parties may file pleadings by fax through Official Payments Corporation (800-322-4945) pursuant to
California Rules of Court, rules 2.300-2.360.

(1) All fax filings shall be accompanied by the Judicial Council Facsimile Transmission Cover
Sheet (MC-005) as the first page transferred, followed by any special handling instructions.
Neither the cover sheet or handling instructions will be filed in the case. The Court is not
required to keep a copy of the cover sheet.

(2) Applicable filing fees will be charged upon receipt of pleadings.

(3) If a party wants copies of any filed documents, the party must make its request on the
facsimile cover sheet. The Court charges $.50 per page plus postage. For postage, the Court
charges $1.00 if the document is less than six pages, $3.00 if the document exceeds six pages.

(4) Service may be activated by contacting Official Payments Corporation at 800-487-4567. By
activating this service, you will have access to all participating Courts in the State of California.

(Eff. 07/01/2010; as amended, eff. 01/01/2014)
Rule 1.13 (addition) Telephonic Appearances

Except when a personal appearance is required, appearance by telephone is permitted under the
circumstances and procedures listed in California Rules of Court, Rule 3.670. The Court participates in
telephonic appearance services provided by CourtCall. Parties must send their request for telephonic
appearance via facsimile to Court Administration at (707) 445-7041, not less than three (3) court days
prior to the Hearing or Case Management Conference. If the request is granted, the party must contact
CourtCall, LLC at (888) 882-6878 no later than noon the day before the hearing to schedule their
telephonic appearance. CourtCall charges a fee for their services unless a fee waiver is on file.


http://www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov/
mailto:LocalRulesComment@humboldtcourt.ca.gov

Further information for parties desiring to appear by telephone is available on the Court’s website at
www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov.

(Eff. 01/01/2014)
CHAPTER 3 - CRIMINAL RULES

Rule 3.1 (addition) Filing Deadlines

@ Matters pertaining to persons who are in-custody for felony and/or misdemeanor charges must be
filed no later than 10:00 a.m. for the same day afternoon arraignment calendar. Any serious
felony matter, as outlined in Penal Code section 667.5, which must be heard on the same day and
has not been filed by 10:00 a.m. must be filed before 2:00 p.m. for the same day late arraignment
calendar. In the absence of judicial authorization for the same day late arraignment calendar, all
other felony and misdemeanor matters filed after 2:00 p.m. will be heard on the afternoon
arraignment calendar on the next Court day.

(b) All Complaints, Petitions, and standard Requests to Calendar which are filed for out of custody
matters will be heard one week from the date of filing.

(c) Information’s and Requests to Calendar for warrant surrenders submitted by noon will be heard
by the third day from the date of filing.

(d) Refer to Appendix 3.1 for the Filing Deadlines Chart.

(Eff. 01/01/2014)
Rule 3.2 (addition) Request to Calendar Case
A party in a criminal action may informally request a matter be placed on calendar, without filing a
;n%[ion, by using the "Request to Calendar"” form set forth in Appendix 3.2 (Humboldt County Form
The Request to Calendar form may be used only for the following matters:

(1) Warrant Surrender

(2) Declaration of a Conflict

(3) Early entry of Plea

(4) Requests for a Fee Waiver

(5) New Commit to Jail Dates

The court shall provide a copy to all affected parties upon approval of the request.

All other matters, not outlined above, require a noticed motion and may not be submitted using the
Request to Calendar form.

(Eff. 01/01/2014)



Appendix 3.1 Local Form 3.1

Calendaring Times for In Custody
(Complaints, Informations, Petitions)

10AM 10 - 2PM After 2PM
(or before)
I [ _|
Felony or Misdemeanor Any Felony filed wil e
In-Custody filed will appear on 3pm Calendar IS emﬁa?olrls ile \c/jw
appear on 1:29pm the same day. appear t e. ollowing day
Calendar the same day. at 1:29pm

Calendaring Times for Out of Custody
(Complaints, Petitions, Standard
Request to Calendar)

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Before Noon Before Noon Before Noon Before Noon Before Noon
FEEEER Hior Monday Will be set for Tuesday A '2&953? ft‘f:e Will be set for Thursday Will be set for Friday
the following week the following week T V\)//eek the following week the following week

Calendaring Times for Out of Custody
(Informations and Warrant Surrender
Request to Calendar)

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Before Noon Before Noon Before Noon Before Noon Before Noon
[ [ [ [ [
Thursday's Friday’s Monday’s Tuesday’s Wednesday's

calendar calendar calendar calendar calendar




Appendix 3.2 Local Form 3.2

Superior Court of California
County of Humboldt

Request to Calendar Case

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Case No.(s).:
Vs.
Defendant
Requesting party:
Date submitted:
Calendar date requested: (Not the date to appear until approved by Court)
Phone number:
Warrant surrender:
[ ] Defendant previously failed to appear in Ct at for
(time) (hearing type)

Statement of basis for calendaring; supporting documentation attached.

[ ] Calendar Request Granted [ ] Calendar Request Denied
Comment:
Judicial Officer: Date:
Set case on calendar at in Dept.
(Date) (Time)

B R R R R R R R R R R S e R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R S R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R

Copyto (circle): DA PD CC ALT DEF ATTY

(Date) (Clerk Initials)
Rev. 9/7/10



8.28

(@)

CHAPTER 8 - FAMILY LAW RULES

Drug/Alcohol Abuse Testing — revision

In order to determine the best interest of a child, the court may order drug testing for any person
seeking custody of or visitation with a child if the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence
that the person engages in the habitual, frequent or continual illegal use of controlled substances
or the habitual or continual abuse of alcohol. The court shall order the least intrusive form of
drug testing, as required by Family Code section 3041.5, unless the parties stipulate to more
extensive drug testing, including hair follicle testing. The results of this testing shall be
confidential and maintained as a sealed record in the

court file and may not be released to any person except the parties, their attorneys or any person
to whom the court expressly grants access by written order made with prior notice to all parties.
(FC 83041.5).

(b)

By court order, parties may drug test at the Humboldt County Probation Office located on the
third floor of the Humboldt County courthouse. The parties must pay a fee for this service that
cannot be waived by the court. Results from tests at the Probation Department can only be
released to the court. The Probation Department does not release the results directly to the tested
party, the other party or an attorney for either party. The court’s standing order is that the results
from testing by the Probation Department may be released to the parties or their attorneys. Test
results may be obtained from the Court Clerk’s Office. Proof of identity is required for any party
requesting a copy of the results. Personnel from the offices of attorneys of record may pick up
test results. Test results are made available to the Child Custody Recommending Counselor
upon execution by the parties of the Authorization to Release Information and Records. (Local
Form CCV-8.3).

(Eff. 07/01/2013, as amended, eff. 01/01/2014)
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Appendix 8.28 Local Form CCV-8.3

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF HUMBOLDT
FAMILY COURT MEDIATION SERVICES

AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE INFORMATION AND RECORDS

I/We authorize release of any and all information and records set forth below, consistent with California and Federal privacy laws.

Q

Q

[m]
Q

Health information and records pertaining to any medical history, mental or physical condition and treatment received, including drugs and
alcohol, laboratory test results, HIV/AIDS, psychological and psychiatric diagnostic evaluations.

Criminal history information and records, including arrest records, probation reports, parole records, law enforcement contacts, field
interrogations and any other law enforcement records, including those regarding domestic violence.

Educational and health information and records regarding each child that is a subject of this litigation.

Child Welfare/Protective Services, juvenile delinquency (re children) information and records including investigative narratives, foster
home or group home placement of the child(ren), placements with relatives, and participation in voluntary services.

All information set forth above.

Other:

CONSENT

I/We understand that the information and records are to be used by the Child Custody Recommending Counselor (CCRC) in making
recommendations to the Superior Court to assist me/us and my/our family with child custody and visitation arrangements. I/We agree to be
responsible for any fees regarding this request. The records may be released in writing and verbally, as requested by the CCRC. This
authorization shall be effective immediately and shall be valid for one-year from the date signed, unless consent is withdrawn in writing. A
copy of this authorization shall be as valid as the original.

YOUR RIGHTS

I/We may refuse to sign this authorization. [/We may revoke this authorization at any time. Any revocation must be in writing, signed by me/us
or by a person authorized to act on my/our behalf, and delivered to the Office of the Family Law Facilitator, 825 Fifth Street, Room 305,
Eureka, CA 95501 or other court designee. Revocation will be effective upon receipt, but will not affect any actions already taken by the CCRC
or other persons acting in reliance upon this authorization.

Name of Child: Date of Birth:
Name of Child: Date of Birth:
Name of Child: Date of Birth:
Name of Child: Date of Birth:

Person(s) Authorizing Release:

Name: Date of Birth: Relationship to Case:
Signature: Date:

Name: Date of Birth: Relationship to Case:
Signature: Date:

Information and Records Holder: Please release the information and records to the Child Custody Recommending Counselor by the
following date: . A Superior Court hearing has been set for: . If there are any fees or
costs regarding this request, please inform the Humboldt Superior Court prior to processing this request.

Child Custody Recommending Counselor

Name: Signature: Date:

Address: 825 Fifth Street, Eureka, CA 95501 Telephone Number:

Tel. (707) 269-1200

Adopted for Mandatory use
Release of Information
Form CCV-8.3

Rev. 1/1/14
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